Did You Know, Citronella is Toxic?!

I did not know, Citronella is toxic until I looked it up.

Brenda Marie Fluharty
3 min readAug 1, 2021

Citronella is Toxic

https://pixabay.com/vectors/tiki-smoke-citronella-torch-summer-4659695/

Did you know Citronella is toxic to your pets? Citronella is a popular bug repellant used in many products, including candles and sprays. There are even Citronella wristbands you can wear. These products are highly dangerous to pets and you should use them with caution.

Never Use Citronella Products Around Pets

https://pixabay.com/photos/pets-cute-cat-dog-cute-wallpaper-3715733/

Citronella candles and sprays are very popular this time of years. Many people use Citronella candles and torches to keep bugs away during their outdoor activities. Did you know it’s a bad idea to have your pets outdoors while use are using Citronella products? Citronella is toxic to pets and could make them sick.

I did not know about Citronella is toxic until I looked it up. I have a dachshund and wanted to know if Citronella was safe to use around her. After all, she loves being outdoors and lying around in the sun. I had to share what I learned because I know many pet owners.

--

--

Brenda Marie Fluharty

Brenda Marie Fluharty is a Spiritual Life Coach, dream interpreter, a past-life therapist, a freelance writer, blogger, poet, art lover, pet owner, and author.